Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Grandma broke her coccyx! Uncle Rico's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 8th, 2007
    Location
    North Carolina
    Posts
    2,238
    Length of Time -> DNS Changes
    So I registered a new domain yesterday morning with godaddy. As soon as the order was placed, I switched the nameservers to point to hostgator. Now today, I am still getting a "Moved Permanently" error page on the domain. Hostgator confirmed my Add-On Domain is setup correctly and I confirmed the new nameservers are in play by doing a whois lookup on the domain. So how long should I be waiting for my test html page to start working?

  2. #2
    Moderator MichaelColey's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Mansfield, TX
    Posts
    16,232
    DNS changes happen rather quickly now (perhaps an hour?), so something isn't right if you're still not seeing it.
    Michael Coley
    Amazing-Bargains.com
     Affiliate Tips | Merchant Best Practices | Affiliate Friendly? | Couponing | CPA Networks? | ABW Tips | Activating Affiliates
    "Education is the most powerful weapon which you can use to change the world." Nelson Mandela

  3. #3
    ABW Ambassador sjangro's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Boston
    Posts
    1,529
    Godaddy's DNS changes are practically instant now.

    There are several places in between where you could be seeing old data, like your PC's cache, your router, your ISP, etc...

    A good quick test is to see if you can get someone else who would have never looked at the domain before (and therefore less cached data) to check it out.

  4. #4
    Tax Paying Member
    Join Date
    November 14th, 2005
    Location
    Chapel Hill, NC
    Posts
    2,119
    Try the ISP number as opposed to the text name of your site. The name sometimes takes longer to get into the system than the numbers.
    You must climb this mountain. There is no elevator. ---- Don't stick your finger in the liquid nitrogen.
    Carolina China

  5. #5
    I like traffic lights
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Southern hemisphere - away from Fukushima
    Posts
    2,936
    Yes, this is usualy a caching issue, on your machine or your ISP's DNS server.

    As above try to get someone else to test it.

    Sometimes if you've been testing it yourself using www.example.com, trying example.com without the www will get you non-cached DNS data which will be the current info.

    In the old days of the DNS only being updated at the TLD's once or twice a day, it was a matter of sitting back and waiting. These days of 5 minute(or less) DNS updates, DNS caches come into play a lot more.

  6. #6
    Affiliate Manager adambha's Avatar
    Join Date
    October 20th, 2006
    Posts
    301
    Another useful trick is to 'manually' set your DNS server. Normally, this is automatically set, but you can pick a specific IP to use for DNS lookups. Just set it to the DNS for your host, or more specifically, the nameserver you entered at Godaddy.

  7. #7
    Classic Rocker Mack's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 27th, 2007
    Location
    Lower Left Coast
    Posts
    1,167
    If you are on a windows machine:

    Start > Setting > Network connections
    Right click you network card, click repair. (clears DNS cache)
    If you have a local router/modem, reset it.
    Try again.

  8. #8
    Affiliate Manager
    Join Date
    June 17th, 2006
    Posts
    108
    Alternatively you can run the following from the windows command prompt:

    ipconfig /flushdns

  9. Newsletter Signup

+ Reply to Thread

Similar Threads

  1. Max length of filename?
    By ks11 in forum WebMerge (Fourthworld.com)
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: September 27th, 2003, 11:51 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •