Unhappy Need help taking product pictures
    We sell handcrafted jewellery at craft shows and online. I've taking pictures for about 40 years and always thought I was a fairly good photographer until I tried my hand at taking pictures of the jewellery.

Can anyone provide me with some ideas on how to take product photos, especially on how to arrange lights, reflectors and the product itself.

I am not an accomplished photog (but fairly good); I use a tripod and flash; I place the target within a 'tent' of loose, white cloth to diffuse the flash; I take several pictures with a natural external light and a combination of natural and the flash; I download all to a temp directory and weed out most there; if necessary I will finish by using one of the photo manipulation programs (PhotoStudio by ArcSoft - came with my scanner) to lighten or darken my choice; finally I get rid of the rest of the pictures to save on disk cluster and rename the winner to a meaningful name; I use an older Fuji S6000 camera set on 1 megabyte pictures with a built-in flash and a macro (close up) lens. I use the free PixResizer program to transform my final JPG picture into one set for 800x600 or 640x480

Charles

Merchant & ABW Ambassador
    Not sure what you budget is but you can get something for less than $100.
    Google for Tabletop Photo Studio or mini photo studio

In my previous life, one thing you need to worry about is lighting and the flash.

Taking the pic is just 1/2 of it. You need to edit it via photoshop to make it more presentable.

Troll Killer and best Snooper!
    I decide when the pigs fly!
    I was going to recommend what Eric suggested. We're considering buying it for a family member who sells stuff on eBay. I think it's used a lot by those folks.