Question AdWords and Amazon
    I am very new to affiliate marketing, and enjoying the lessons so far. I am a bit confused about something. I created an aStore in Amazon to sell a genre of books I enjoy through my website and then created an ad using Google AdWords to drive traffic.

When I review the statistics, Google says I've had (to date) tens of thousands of impressions, but my click through is minimal (less than 1%). But when I review stats on Amazon, it shows the number of clicks to the site even lower. What gives?

Am I a victim of click fraud? Why are the stats so different between the two entities?

Aside from setting up the site, writing the ad and sitting back and waiting for the orders to roll in additional suggestions for driving traffic to my site are appreciated.

This is my first attempt to understand the process and learn, and so this one threw me for a loop!

Thanks!

The clicks that you are seeing in Google are clicks to your web site. The clicks that your Amazon stats show are those visitors that clicked one of your Amazon links after arriving at your site. This will usually be lower since it's hard to imagine 100% of your visitors clicking a link after landing on your page.

-rematt
    "I know that you believe you understand what you think I said, but I'm not sure you realize that what you heard is not what I meant." - Richard Nixon

Ah, OK, that makes sense. What is a reasonable expected click through rate? Less than 1% seems low by any standard...

It really depends on how targeted your ads, keywords and landing pages are. There are some great threads here on PPC campaigns. Do a search and you'll find tons of info. Pay very close attention to anything on PPC by Donuts.

-rematt
    "I know that you believe you understand what you think I said, but I'm not sure you realize that what you heard is not what I meant." - Richard Nixon

Visual Artist & ABW Ambassador lostdeviant's Avatar