Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Full Member
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    390
    Quick question for you FrontPage Gurus. Whenever I use the <H#> tags for copy, FrontPage treats the copy as a paragraph. It will not let me use the <br> tag and format the copy directly below the break tag in a different font style (e.g. normal).

    Is there a way around this? I fooled around with the page options a little bit, but couldn't figure it out. What I'd like to be able to do is format copy as shown below:
    <h2>Headline</H2>
    Copy directly below

    NetSweat.com - The Internet's Fitness Resource
    www.netsweat.com

  2. #2
    ABW Ambassador DesignerWiz's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    U.S.A
    Posts
    2,777
    I am not a FrontPage guru ... but we have and use the editor daily.

    I hard code the HTML language and use FrontPage editor for it's ease of "find & replace" functions amongst other cool options the editor has.

    In regards to the <h2> ... I would place the text in a 2 cell table using the align attributes to tuck it close for the simplest solution.

    A better alternative is to use CSS and you could use the <br> tag with ease. Hope that helps.

    Ray Thomas
    DesignerWiz.com CEO
    Development Resource & Javascript Public Archive Center
    http://DesignerWiz.com

  3. #3
    Full Member
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    322
    I’ll tell you what I do. I just hit html view and move the </h*>
    Front Page seems to want to give you something like this:
    <h1> Some Text<br>
    Some more Text</h1>

    I just move the closing tag up to where it should be:
    <h1> Some Text</h1><br>
    Some More text

    I don’t know a way to have FP do this automatically though. It does a similar thing with <a> and <br>. If you hit shift-return after a link to put another under it, it will move the </a> to the end of the second line. Go figure.

    Jason
    “That’s the song I’ve been sangin for years, that’s the way the wild wind blows” – Robert Earl Keen

  4. #4
    Full Member
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    390
    <BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>

    I’ll tell you what I do. I just hit html view and move the &lt;/h*&gt;
    Front Page seems to want to give you something like this:
    &lt;h1&gt; Some Text&lt;br&gt;
    Some more Text&lt;/h1&gt;

    I just move the closing tag up to where it should be:
    &lt;h1&gt; Some Text&lt;/h1&gt;&lt;br&gt;
    Some More text
    <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

    I think I tried that it and it didn't work. Somehow I think the problem may be related to FP's love of the &lt;p&gt; tags.

    I've also tried the tables, but can't get the text close enough to look like there is a &lt;br&gt; there instead of a seperate cell.

    NetSweat.com - The Internet's Fitness Resource
    www.netsweat.com

  5. #5
    ABW Ambassador Sam Bay's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    1,603
    I'll tell you how to fix it: Get Dreamweaver!

  6. #6
    Full Member
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    322
    Ok, Try This. It may give you the affect you're
    looking for:

    &lt;h1 style="display:inline"&gt;Some Text&lt;/h1&gt;&lt;br&gt;
    More Text

    Jason
    “That’s the song I’ve been sangin for years, that’s the way the wild wind blows” – Robert Earl Keen

  7. #7
    Full Member
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    390
    NewcastleB,

    Thanks - That did the trick.

    However, any changes to the tags had to be done outside of FP, which is odd. I tried changing the header tags from H1 to H2 and FP showed a paragraph break following the header tags in preview mode. When I went to notepad, made the change and then pasted the altered code into frontpage, it worked.
    http://www.netsweat.com/Home_Fitness..._Equipment.htm

    Crossing my fingers on this one....

    NetSweat.com - The Internet's Fitness Resource
    www.netsweat.com

  8. #8
    ABW Ambassador DesignerWiz's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    U.S.A
    Posts
    2,777
    Hello Netsweatcom,

    Glad you found the remedy that worked. As I said before ... it is best to hard code the HTML then insert in to FP because it loves to alter any codes made in the HTML view itself.

    Ray Thomas
    DesignerWiz.com CEO
    Development Resource & Javascript Public Archive Center
    http://DesignerWiz.com

  9. Newsletter Signup

+ Reply to Thread

Similar Threads

  1. Frontpage screw up - HELP!
    By Aunt Lily in forum Midnight Cafe'
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: January 28th, 2007, 11:07 AM
  2. Familiar with Frontpage? Help please
    By ~Michelle in forum Midnight Cafe'
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: April 26th, 2006, 12:00 PM
  3. Some Frontpage Help
    By maae10 in forum Programming / Datafeeds / Tools
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: March 24th, 2006, 04:09 PM
  4. FrontPage Help
    By hazydavy in forum Programming / Datafeeds / Tools
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: July 1st, 2003, 10:12 AM
  5. cj frontpage
    By java in forum Midnight Cafe'
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: December 26th, 2001, 10:03 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •