Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    ABW Ambassador
    Join Date
    June 30th, 2007
    Location
    Syracuse, NY
    Posts
    677
    Two backgrounds work in Firefox, not IE. Am I missing something?
    Me again.. sorry, LOL.

    For a website, I have a main background image, and a 2nd background image that repeats the bottom of the main one, for when content pushes the page down. I had this working with wordpress, but now that I've removed wordpress.. it only works in Firefox, not IE. Been trying everything I can think of and it hasn't worked.

    Here is part of my style sheet. Oh and IE does pick up the background color in the html section.. so shouldn't it pick up the background image too? Thanks.
    Code:
    html{
    
    background-image:url(img/bottomimage.png);
    	background-repeat: repeat-y;
    	height: 12px;
    	width: 950px;
    	background-color: #82A1A3;
    
    }
    
    body {
    	margin: 0;
    	padding: 0;
    	font-family: Verdana;	
    	font-size: 10px; /* IE5 Win */
      	voice-family: "\"}\""; 
      	voice-family: inherit;
      	font-size: 0.86em;
    	color: #000077;
    
    background-image:url(img/mainimage.png);
    	background-repeat: no-repeat;
    	height: 779px;
    	width: 950px;
    }

  2. #2
    Resident Genius and Staunch Capitalist Leader's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    12,817
    I'm not an expert, but something looks wrong here...

    Code:
    voice-family: "\"}\"";
    Maybe IE stops reading after the } ?


    If the browser interprets that as a closing bracket, then it'll mean that the section has 1 opening bracket (after "body") but 2 closing ones (one in that line, and one by itself at the end of your sample). It looks like you're trying to escape it, but IE may not be understanding that.
    There is no knowledge that is not power. ~Hemingway

  3. #3
    ABW Ambassador
    Join Date
    June 30th, 2007
    Location
    Syracuse, NY
    Posts
    677
    That was how it came in the wordpress theme. I had no idea what it was for, so kept it, incase it was important, lol.

    I tried removing it just now, had no effect, but it was reading the background image and text color after that code. It is the background image in the html section that won't show up. The background color in there does though, so I know IE at least looks in there.

    Thanks for the suggestion though.

  4. #4
    ABW Ambassador
    Join Date
    June 30th, 2007
    Location
    Syracuse, NY
    Posts
    677
    Well.. still lost, but I tried something different. I put the repeating image in the body in the CSS, then I put this on the first line of code for the index:
    Code:
    <img src="mainimage.png">
    It worked, I got the effect I wanted! Unfortunately, it pushed down the content and sidebar, so they start after the image. Could there be a way to have the content and side bar appear over it? lol

    Baffling though.. it worked fine having Wordpress manage it, so I think I must be missing some code to make it work with the CSS. Or can someone in the know tell me I've been chasing the impossible for a few days now? That'd be nice to know, so I can stop.

  5. #5
    Resident Genius and Staunch Capitalist Leader's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    12,817
    It'd need to be set as a background image. I'm not sure just how to work it in, though...
    There is no knowledge that is not power. ~Hemingway

  6. #6
    ABW Ambassador
    Join Date
    June 30th, 2007
    Location
    Syracuse, NY
    Posts
    677
    Oh, I tried using making a div tag in the CSS and putting that in the body of the index, and it actually worked (almost). Got it to repeat, but it repeated over the main image, need it to start at the bottom of the main image. And I see with the repeat-y command, it repeats up and down, no just down, correct?

    The odd thing though, is Opera and Firefox both ignored that div. Only IE followed it, and I just checked, my IE is from August 2004, version 6.0.

    Maybe my problem is just an outdated IE? Though I'd imagine there could still be a good percentage using it?

  7. #7
    ABW Ambassador
    Join Date
    June 30th, 2007
    Location
    Syracuse, NY
    Posts
    677
    OMG! I got it working!!!

    Working fine in IE 6.0, Firefox, and Opera.

    For those with this issue, here is how I got it working.

    Made two divs.
    Code:
    #div1 {
    
    background-image:url(img/bottomimage.png);
    	background-repeat: repeat-y;
    	height: 12px;
    	width: 950px;}
    
    #div2 {
    background-image:url(img/mainimage.png);
    	background-repeat: no-repeat;
    	height: 779px;
    	width: 950px;}
    Without the height and width, Firefox won't read them, Opera either.

    Then in my index file, I started both Divs before my header include, then closed them at the end, before my closing html tag.

    Phew. Thanks Leader for replying.
    Last edited by Hardaka; November 27th, 2007 at 10:56 PM. Reason: Whoops.. sorry Leader, called you the wrong name.

  8. #8
    Affiliate Manager MINDsprinter's Avatar
    Join Date
    August 18th, 2006
    Location
    Washington, DC
    Posts
    1,436
    Welcome to the wonderful world of CSS compatibility. Ugh...stupid IE....
    Jason Rosenbaum
    Affiliate Manager
    MINDsprinting

  9. Newsletter Signup

+ Reply to Thread

Similar Threads

  1. Mutapic - endless possibilites for logos, backgrounds, etc.
    By sfcom in forum Marketing Resources & Power Tools
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: November 17th, 2009, 11:16 AM
  2. Code to work with Firefox
    By animatic1 in forum Programming / Datafeeds / Tools
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: December 16th, 2007, 06:27 AM
  3. Firefox extension allows analytics to be viewed in firefox.
    By jrb16915 in forum Rakuten LinkShare - LS
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: November 9th, 2005, 04:09 PM
  4. Buttons as backgrounds to table cells
    By SSanf in forum Programming / Datafeeds / Tools
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: August 9th, 2003, 07:57 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •