Results 1 to 22 of 22
  1. #1
    Life is Supposed to be Fun! Rexanne's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    12,360
    Lost Page on Frontpage HELP!
    Oy GAWD - I just created a very nice page and it's showing up online buy it disappeared from my Front Page list of pages. Arghhhhhhhhhhh -

    Anyone have an idea how to find it in FP? I've tried the "find" feature and it comes up on the pages I linked it to but the actual page is mysteriously not there.

    I am SO not in the mood for this today! LOL
    Peace,

    Rexanne

    Rexanne.com
    Loving Everyone's Child Creates Magic


  2. #2
    Moderator BurgerBoy's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    jacked by sylon www.sylonddos.weebly.com
    Posts
    9,618
    You could go to - remote web site in FP and then tell FP to - Synchronize.

    That will compare your computer to your website and then move any pages on your server not on your computer into your computer.

    I don't know if that will let you find it then - but you could give it a try.

    You could also refresh FP by clicking on the button at the top of the screen with the image of a page with two green arrows going right and left.

    I don't know if this will help you but you could give it a try and see.

    Vietnam Veteran 1966-1970 USASA
    ABW Forum Rules - Advertise At ABW

  3. #3
    ABW Ambassador
    Join Date
    January 4th, 2006
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    2,477
    Maybe you can do an "import" of your site to FP? It might take you a while if your site has millions of pages

  4. #4
    Moderator BurgerBoy's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    jacked by sylon www.sylonddos.weebly.com
    Posts
    9,618
    A Synchronize will the same thing as an import - but will only move files that need to be moved instead of the whole website.

    It is much quicker.

    Vietnam Veteran 1966-1970 USASA
    ABW Forum Rules - Advertise At ABW

  5. #5
    ABW Ambassador
    Join Date
    January 4th, 2006
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    2,477
    Quote Originally Posted by BurgerBoy
    A Synchronize will the same thing as an import - but will only move files that need to be moved instead of the whole website.

    It is much quicker.
    BurgerBoy, I know you are the master of FP .

  6. #6
    Moderator BurgerBoy's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    jacked by sylon www.sylonddos.weebly.com
    Posts
    9,618
    I've been using it since the first version released in 1998.

    Vietnam Veteran 1966-1970 USASA
    ABW Forum Rules - Advertise At ABW

  7. #7
    Life is Supposed to be Fun! Rexanne's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    12,360
    Thank you SO much BB and MF!

    I just recreated the page - was much easier than letting myself go completely crazy trying to find it.

    I still have no idea what happened to the original page. Weird ... FP was acting a little screwy so maybe it was just a temporary FP issue.

    BB, I usually don't ever synchronize, just publish from local to remote. I try to avoid doing anything that could get me into technical trouble that I won't know how to fix. LOL - Is it a good idea to sync every now and then?
    Peace,

    Rexanne

    Rexanne.com
    Loving Everyone's Child Creates Magic


  8. #8
    Moderator BurgerBoy's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    jacked by sylon www.sylonddos.weebly.com
    Posts
    9,618
    Yes.

    For one thing - if something has changed on your server the pages will move into FP and you can correct them.

    If FP moves anything from your server to FP watch the bottom of the screen and you can see which page(s) it is moving so you know which pages to take a look at.

    I had a couple of pages last week that had some javascript added to them that I didn't put there.

    I removed the JS and published them again like they were to start with.

    Vietnam Veteran 1966-1970 USASA
    ABW Forum Rules - Advertise At ABW

  9. #9
    Life is Supposed to be Fun! Rexanne's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    12,360
    Quote Originally Posted by BurgerBoy

    I had a couple of pages last week that had some javascript added to them that I didn't put there.
    Yikes! - how did that happen?

    Will go play with sync now. If I mess things up I'll be back wailing. ;-)
    Peace,

    Rexanne

    Rexanne.com
    Loving Everyone's Child Creates Magic


  10. #10
    ABW Ambassador
    Join Date
    January 4th, 2006
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    2,477
    Quote Originally Posted by BurgerBoy
    You could go to - remote web site in FP and then tell FP to - Synchronize.
    I feel like want to play with Synchronize too. So how exactly to do that, BB?

    Can't believe I've been using FP for 1.5 years, everything sounds so fancy to me

  11. #11
    Life is Supposed to be Fun! Rexanne's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    12,360
    Quote Originally Posted by mayfly
    I feel like want to play with Synchronize too.
    Hope you've got a fast connection MF - I just clicked "sync" and it's telling me I have another 59 minutes to go. Geeeeeze - that's on DSL.

    This will give me time to do something else so it's OK - I've been working too hard today anyway.
    Peace,

    Rexanne

    Rexanne.com
    Loving Everyone's Child Creates Magic


  12. #12
    ABW Ambassador
    Join Date
    January 4th, 2006
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    2,477
    Quote Originally Posted by Rexanne
    Hope you've got a fast connection MF - I just clicked "sync" and it's telling me I have another 59 minutes to go. Geeeeeze - that's on DSL.

    This will give me time to do something else so it's OK - I've been working too hard today anyway.
    I'm using Comcast cable, a lot faster than yahoo DSL I used before.

    But Rexanne, I have no idea how to "sync"(still googling for the answer...).

  13. #13
    Life is Supposed to be Fun! Rexanne's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    12,360
    Quote Originally Posted by mayfly
    But Rexanne, I have no idea how to "sync"(still googling for the answer...).
    At the bottom right of the screen, it reads:

    Publish all changed pages
    Local to remote
    Remote to Local
    Synchronize

    You click "synschronize" and it does it's thing. This is the first time I've done it so no guarantees.
    Peace,

    Rexanne

    Rexanne.com
    Loving Everyone's Child Creates Magic


  14. #14
    ABW Ambassador
    Join Date
    January 4th, 2006
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    2,477
    I don't see any of those choices.

    I'm on MS help site. Looks like I need to

    Configuring your computer to use Offline Files
    To configure your computer to use the Offline Files feature:
    1. Click Start, and then click My Computer.
    2. On the Tools menu, click Folder Options.
    3. Click the Offline Files tab.
    4. Select the Enable Offline Files check box, and then click OK.

    But I'm stucked on step 3. Click the Offline Files tab.

    There is no Offline Files tab on my computer

  15. #15
    ABW Veteran Mr. Sal's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    6,795
    Quote Originally Posted by mayfly
    I don't see any of those choices.

    I'm on MS help site. Looks like I need to

    Configuring your computer to use Offline Files
    To configure your computer to use the Offline Files feature:
    1. Click Start, and then click My Computer.
    2. On the Tools menu, click Folder Options.
    3. Click the Offline Files tab.
    4. Select the Enable Offline Files check box, and then click OK.

    But I'm stucked on step 3. Click the Offline Files tab.

    There is no Offline Files tab on my computer
    mayfly,

    Just make sure you don't break something that ain't broken!

    Warning:
    Messing around with the FrontPage Server Extensions can damage your site if you don't know what you're doing.

    That warning was just in case you didn't knew about it, and not to scare you away from trying the FrontPage features.

  16. #16
    ABW Ambassador
    Join Date
    January 4th, 2006
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    2,477
    Quote Originally Posted by Mr. Sal
    mayfly,

    Just make sure you don't break something that ain't broken!

    Warning:
    Messing around with the FrontPage Server Extensions can damage your site if you don't know what you're doing.

    That warning was just in case you didn't knew about it, and not to scare you away from trying the FrontPage features.
    Warning well taken (you are not going to track me down this time, will you? )

    I will just leave my FP setting as it is, for now.

  17. #17
    Life is Supposed to be Fun! Rexanne's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    12,360
    Quote Originally Posted by mayfly
    I don't see any of those choices.

    I'm on MS help site. Looks like I need to

    Configuring your computer to use Offline Files
    To configure your computer to use the Offline Files feature:
    1. Click Start, and then click My Computer.
    2. On the Tools menu, click Folder Options.
    3. Click the Offline Files tab.
    4. Select the Enable Offline Files check box, and then click OK.

    But I'm stucked on step 3. Click the Offline Files tab.

    There is no Offline Files tab on my computer
    Mayfly, what version are you using? I'm on 2003.
    Peace,

    Rexanne

    Rexanne.com
    Loving Everyone's Child Creates Magic


  18. #18
    ABW Ambassador
    Join Date
    January 4th, 2006
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    2,477
    2002 .

  19. #19
    Life is Supposed to be Fun! Rexanne's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    12,360
    Quote Originally Posted by mayfly
    2002 .
    I preferred 2002 to 2003 - so what if you can't synchronize. LOL
    Peace,

    Rexanne

    Rexanne.com
    Loving Everyone's Child Creates Magic


  20. #20
    Chick with Brains Tracy's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Polk County, Florida
    Posts
    1,878
    Rexanne,

    Did your Frontpage crash after you made the page? I've had this happen before. I'm also on Frontpage 2003. I've created a page and then for some reason Frontpage crashes and when I open it up, the page isn't there.

    Only it really is there. It just isn't showing up in the file lists. However, when I use file open and manually type in the name of the page, it opens. Then just save it again and everything works fine and the page appears in the list.

    Another solution, if you have already published the page is to go to the page on the Internet: right-click View Page Source, and the copy the information into a new page using html view. I've had to do that before when I inadvertently lost a page on my computer.

    How big is the website? Taking 59 minutes to synchronize is a lot. Have you considered breaking it down into subsites before it gets any bigger?

    My site got really big and the navigation structure started going crazy. After some time on the phone with Microsoft Frontpage support, they suggested that I break the site down into sub-sites. It was a scary idea for me, but I tried it and now my one big website is really broken down into 80 sub-sites. Fortunately, all the sections of my site were in individual folders so all I had to do was convert the folders to a web, and create a new index page for each section. Then I just redirected the older main page for the section to the new index page.

    Now when I work on my site, I just work on an individual sub-site which publishes a lot faster than when everything is in one huge site.

    Another thing you have to remember when doing this is that your can link down from the main site, but not up from a subsite. What I mean is if you have a link in a subsite to a different section of your site, you need to use the complete url rather than just the page name. Other than that it works like a charm.

  21. #21
    Life is Supposed to be Fun! Rexanne's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    12,360
    Quote Originally Posted by Tracy
    Rexanne,

    Did your Frontpage crash after you made the page? I've had this happen before. I'm also on Frontpage 2003. I've created a page and then for some reason Frontpage crashes and when I open it up, the page isn't there.

    Only it really is there. It just isn't showing up in the file lists. However, when I use file open and manually type in the name of the page, it opens. Then just save it again and everything works fine and the page appears in the list..
    I tried everything but the page was gone. FP didn't crash so no clue what happened.

    Quote Originally Posted by Tracy
    Another solution, if you have already published the page is to go to the page on the Internet: right-click View Page Source, and the copy the information into a new page using html view. I've had to do that before when I inadvertently lost a page on my computer.
    That's what I ended up doing. Easier than going crazy trying to find an unfindable page.

    How big is the website? Taking 59 minutes to synchronize is a lot. Have you considered breaking it down into subsites before it gets any bigger?

    Quote Originally Posted by Tracy
    My site got really big and the navigation structure started going crazy. After some time on the phone with Microsoft Frontpage support, they suggested that I break the site down into sub-sites. It was a scary idea for me, but I tried it and now my one big website is really broken down into 80 sub-sites. Fortunately, all the sections of my site were in individual folders so all I had to do was convert the folders to a web, and create a new index page for each section. Then I just redirected the older main page for the section to the new index page.
    OMG - anything more than copy/paste makes my head spin. I know I need to do this at some point. When I finally switch hosts, might have to.

    Thanks for the tips and info, Tracy!
    Peace,

    Rexanne

    Rexanne.com
    Loving Everyone's Child Creates Magic


  22. #22
    Full Member
    Join Date
    December 20th, 2005
    Posts
    413
    If you're not actually using FrontPage extensions, it might just be easier to ftp files to your server.
    [URL=http://themoneyforums.com]The Money Forums[/URL]

  23. Newsletter Signup

+ Reply to Thread

Similar Threads

  1. Some Frontpage Help
    By maae10 in forum Programming / Datafeeds / Tools
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: March 24th, 2006, 04:09 PM
  2. FrontPage question
    By Catwoman in forum Midnight Cafe'
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: May 10th, 2004, 06:18 PM
  3. FrontPage Help
    By hazydavy in forum Programming / Datafeeds / Tools
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: July 1st, 2003, 10:12 AM
  4. Linkshare vs. FrontPage
    By in forum Rakuten LinkShare - LS
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: March 6th, 2002, 07:30 PM
  5. cj frontpage
    By java in forum Midnight Cafe'
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: December 26th, 2001, 10:03 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •