Questions about creating a shopping portal
    Hey everyone, noob here with some questions. I have been searching around the forums for a while now and have found that I don't even know the vocab to do an effective search.

So here is the deal...I am in the very early stages of building a site that would act as a price comparison for a niche market (I think the term is shopping portal). For example say someone is looking for an ASUS P5N-E SLI motherboard. My site would go and find all the reputable merchants that offer the product and show them to the visitor. Nothin' fancy...

What my site would need is a list of all products that a site offers so that I can link directly to them and get a little bit of money for the trouble. Someone mentioned a datafeed...this sounds like what I am asking for. Where do these come from? Can I call some sort of web service from newegg or whereever and they give me back a huge list of products? Do i need to use something like Commission Junction to get access to these datafeeds?

I see these things all over the place...bizrate.com is a huge one. Where do they get their data? Obviously the vendors are providing it, so how can a new site get some examples and such?

I know this has probably been asked 100 times, but I can't seem to find the search that will give me what I need.

Thanks for your help!

David

sign up for programs within networks or in-house, ask for access to their datafeed...........you have to be an affiliate in order to make any money otherwise you are selling their products free.....

Thanks for responding Rolet.

Sorry for being dense, but by networks you mean things like Commission Junction and such? What does in-house mean? Just asking the vendor directly?

Ok...so lets go with newegg.com for a second. I can just email them for their feed? I would assume it changes all the time. Is there a place I can get it say, on a daily basis?