All,

I've been working with a site for a few months and sold a lot of their product through affiliate links. Recently, they asked me to help them get more affiliates and manage existing ones (e.g., write a newsletter and answer questions). Taking on the role of affiliate manager would allow me to make more $$$ but the site owner is worried about a conflict of interest (she doesn't want my affiliate links in the e-mail to all the affiliates). Is it possible to do both - operate my own site w/affiliate links and manage the home site's affiliates? If so, I would appreciate any info on how much to ask to do this? I'm really in the dark here. Thanks.

Yes, it's possible to do both.

The simplest way is to identify which areas have a potential problem and then draw up a simple contract.

I'd suggest something that acknowledges that seperates both areas. Establish how confidential or business information will be used, how visitors will click through, that sort of thing. Acknowledge that you are also an affiliate and have a private financial interest, but establish the limits of what can and cannot be done.

Once you have reached an agreement, sign it off in a memorandum of understanding, or a contract if you prefer.

These sort of things happen all the time. The important thing is to realise that different roles require different hats.

Here's an example.. I used to be a Councilman/Councillor. There were things that I knew that conflicted with my Real Life work. So simply, stuff that I knew or could do with one hat on, I couldn't with the other hat on. Effectively I had to keep secrets from myself. It's not as difficult or as wacky as it sounds!

________
    All your commission are belong to us.
    Check out the latest Homeland Security press releases.

SpikeDo: