Question What causes $0 sale/commissions?
    Over the weekend I came across a transaction which was a $0 sale, $0 commission. The AM says it happens occasionally, he's sure it happens on the buyer's end when they do something.

As a web architect myself I'm not so sure. You add a product to your cart. The product has a price. You check out your cart and when you pay you aren't asked how much you'd like to pay, it totals the cost of the items in your cart from the prices stored in the database. Otherwise, if you're passing the prices by querystring then, whoooeee, you're in deep trouble... And if someone attempts to buy a non-existent product, then even so why did a transaction occur? Etc., etc. I hate when the wheels start grinding like this...

Anyone else have any insights? Is this a glitch/bug that needs a support ticket? Is it a red flag? How often does it happen to you?

Visual Artist & ABW Ambassador lostdeviant's Avatar
    It could happen if the merchant has a promotion of buy one get a coupon for free whatever. You get the sale and weeks later the same person uses the coupon for 100% off the other item.

Hrm, that's plausible. I don't think the merchant has been offering such coupons, but I should ask.

But then wouldn't the AM know this and have provided that very explanation when I asked? "Oh, the buyer used the xxx coupon from one of your past sales" instead of "that happens occasionally, it's something the user is doing on their end."

I had a couple, the AM told me that those were test purchases they made with my ID in the URI. Check in your Activity Details though because I have another two from different merchants that told me the commission isn't shown in my account until all chance of reversal has passed. Keeps neater stats I guess.

ABW Ambassador