Determining number of tiers?
    Thanks to the friendly folks at the Share-A-Sale forum here at ABestWeb, I have learned about this remarkable program. I've just downloaded the trial version which allows me to practice on up to 20 records at one time. As a newbie, I'll try to do my homework first and only ask questions that I can't find elsewhere. Having checked around, I cannot figure this out:

When you download a datafeed that you've never seen before, can you WebMerge veterans immediately tell how many tiers are necessary for the best webpage presentation?

If so, what are you looking for to make that determination?

Any feedback is appreciated...

Affiliate Manager
    The number of tiers used to present product info is somewhat subjective, dependent on the judgment of the person making the site, the focus of products at the site being built, and the range of info available in the feed which could be used to derive a taxonomy.

I'm not intimately familiar with the structure of SAS feeds (I'm just the software guy), but hopefully some of the experienced affiliates here can lend their tips on how they approach this.
    Richard Gaskin
    Developer of WebMerge: Publish any data feed on any site
    http://www.fourthworld.com

Thanks Richard -- I'll be purchasing the full version as soon as I become a little more experienced. I'm hoping the number of tiers is something that can be determined in a somewhat mechanical way (as opposed to subjective), but I don't know, thus the question. For example, would counting the number of images for each product (1 thumbnail ; 1 larger version) indicate a 3 tier site? Any guidance is appreciated...

Quote Originally Posted by Aphiliac
    For example, would counting the number of images for each product (1 thumbnail ; 1 larger version) indicate a 3 tier site?
    Aphiliac the number of tiers you have may also be dictated by the number of categories and subcategories that the merchant has or you decide are necessary.