software to help an affiliate partner with select merchants
    I am a newbie to this thread. I have learned a ton from reading through all the posts, but have not found a direct answer to my posing question. Hopefully someone here can help.

I am creating a website that will have a product shopping guide (I will not be directly selling prodcuts) with a very specific niche. I have looked into joining multiple networks as an affiliate but most networks only deal with large corporate companies that don't match my business model or don't have many merchants selling products in my niche.

Ultimately I would like to attract and partner with very select merchants, most of which are not running their own affiliate marketing programs. I envision running my own network, much like gifts.com, but I am having a difficult time finding software that meets my needs.

I realzie that I will need to have proven statistics that would attact merchants to this type of program and also realize that there could be some hestatation for merchants to "sign up" due to issues with tracking statistics and payments, ( the merchants would be paying me on a CPC basis but I would also be running the program).

So my main questions are:

1. Is there any software out there that will meet my needs?
    2. Would you recommend running this program through a third party for billing and tracking purposes? (would an outsourced program manager solve this issue?)
    3. Do large networks allow you to attract your own merchants and engage in exclusive contracts? ( I think I already know the answer to this question, but I have been wrong in the past).

Thanks in advance for the help

Visual Artist & ABW Ambassador lostdeviant's Avatar
    I'm confused. Are you trying to be an affiliate, affiliate marketing program, or affiliate marketing network?

sorry for the confusion
    I guess that is part of my problem. I don't know how to classify it.