Reply

Thread: Beware!

 
Tools
  #1  
Old July 6th, 2008, 09:20 AM
Cheesehead Cheesehead is offline
Cheesehead's Avatar
More Cheesier Than Ever
Join Date: January 18th, 2005
Location: Land of The Cheeseheads
Posts: 2,728
Just a note to say that you can get harmful trojans from ANY website!

Two days ago, I had trojans placed on the index pages of all my sites within a Hostgator account I had. And anyone, including myself, that accessed the pages with an IE browser, was hit with a download (that my AV caught). No download in FF however. (Fortunately, I happened to be testing one of the pages from my Father-in-law's computer and caught them quickly). When I re-uploaded the pages, the trojans were gone, so this was obviously someone at their server. I also changed my password to one more secure.

So, check your pages periodically with an IE browser, use a very secure password, and have a good anti-virus/anti-spyware program running at all times.

I think the quickest death to any website would be for Google to tag it with the warning "May contain software that my damage your computer" in the SERPS.
__________________
Free Blog Start Up Guide - Thinking about blogging but don't know where to start?

This World is Not My Home
We're gonna go inside, we're gonna go outside, inside and outside. . . And then we're gonna go go go and we're not gonna stop til we get across that goalline! Quotes from the movie Rudy, 1993
  #2  
Old July 6th, 2008, 10:44 AM
superCool superCool is online now
superCool's Avatar
Full Member
Join Date: April 23rd, 2008
Location: Texas
Posts: 438
you're lucky you caught it (hopefully quickly) - superCool would feel terrible if his site infected someone. this happened to a friend’s site last month. superCool visited the site and it started downloading some software (including some bits of the .net framework). .net even asked if superCool wanted to participate in a Microsoft User Experience program. superCool stopped it in time and warned the site owner. after some research we found some hidden script at the very bottom of the page. It was related to traffurl.ru. apparently they somehow hack your site and add the code to the bottom.

scary stuff
  #3  
Old July 6th, 2008, 12:22 PM
2busy 2busy is offline
2busy's Avatar
ABW Ambassador
Join Date: January 17th, 2005
Location: Tropical Mountaintop
Posts: 2,538
If your server is a IIS (Windows) server there is information here:
Microsoft.com

and at WebmasterWorld

There are also problems on UNIX servers according to Google

Just what we all need..
Join ABW to remove this sponsored message.
  #4  
Old July 7th, 2008, 03:45 PM
newestuser newestuser is offline
newestuser's Avatar
ABW Ambassador
Join Date: February 14th, 2007
Posts: 505
i had some sites hosted on a server with other peoples sites a while ago.. there were scripts so people could traverse the directory tree and do stuff to files. Granted this was 5+ years ago, and maybe security has been fixed somewhat since then, but maybe not for your site?
all my stuff is dedicated servers/racks now.
Reply

Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Christian Affiliates Beware - Some "Christian" dating sites... GoColts Midnight Cafe' 3 January 20th, 2008 05:51 PM
Merchants beware!!!!!!!! coolmasti ShareASale 3 October 22nd, 2007 11:54 AM
MSN Messenger - Beware Howard Gottlieb Midnight Cafe' 4 August 6th, 2007 11:19 PM
Beware of Oriental Trading Company La_Valette LinkShare 44 July 13th, 2006 06:43 AM
For Guys only - Beware of SE results. ;-) Mr. Sal Daily Chuckle 4 June 13th, 2006 01:49 AM