Reply

Thread: Back to their old theft tricks

 
Tools
  #1  
Old September 14th, 2002, 10:21 AM
ecomcity ecomcity is offline
ecomcity's Avatar
2005 Linkshare Golden Link Award Winner 
Join Date: January 18th, 2005
Location: St Clair Shores MI.
Posts: 17,386
Seems like Wurldmedia decided they can't make it playing fair in the affiliate pool. They are again swapping affiliate ID#s ass pointed out by TigerDirect's action to drop them immediately. The they develop a driveby download to install a BHO Adware virus for their new search bar program to further their "reach" of the theftwarez program.

WebMaster Mike
  #2  
Old September 14th, 2002, 06:08 PM
Kellie aka Ms. B Kellie aka Ms. B is offline
Kellie aka Ms. B's Avatar
Defender of Truth, Justice and the Affiliate Way
Join Date: January 18th, 2005
Location: The Swamp
Posts: 7,185
Send a message via AIM to Kellie aka Ms. B Send a message via MSN to Kellie aka Ms. B Send a message via Yahoo to Kellie aka Ms. B
Mike,

What new search bar? And what does this Adware virus actually do? More info please.
  #3  
Old September 14th, 2002, 10:25 PM
ecomcity ecomcity is offline
ecomcity's Avatar
2005 Linkshare Golden Link Award Winner 
Join Date: January 18th, 2005
Location: St Clair Shores MI.
Posts: 17,386
The reference tying xupiter.com to Morpheus has been cleared up by Haiko. They aren't tied into each other but both are definitely BHO adwarez viruses.See full post for details..
http://abw.infopop.cc/6/ubb.x?a=tpc&s=548608979&f=179600589&m=6416016611

WebMaster Mike
Join ABW to remove this sponsored message.
  #4  
Old September 15th, 2002, 05:30 AM
Kellie aka Ms. B Kellie aka Ms. B is offline
Kellie aka Ms. B's Avatar
Defender of Truth, Justice and the Affiliate Way
Join Date: January 18th, 2005
Location: The Swamp
Posts: 7,185
Send a message via AIM to Kellie aka Ms. B Send a message via MSN to Kellie aka Ms. B Send a message via Yahoo to Kellie aka Ms. B
Thanks Mike. In that post Haiko mentions that they are tied to Lop.com, which was who I thought you were referencing in this post. I thought maybe you had the skinny on how they were tied to Lop.com. There's getting to be too many of these idiots out there to keep them straight.

Any further details on that Haiko?
  #5  
Old September 16th, 2002, 08:38 AM
ecomcity ecomcity is offline
ecomcity's Avatar
2005 Linkshare Golden Link Award Winner 
Join Date: January 18th, 2005
Location: St Clair Shores MI.
Posts: 17,386
Xupiter seems to be a more stealty copy of the LOP BHO done by the same programmers. See this link for some greater details and tricky un-install info.
http://www.spywareinfo.com/yabbse/index.php?board=3;action=display;threadid=1066

Info on the Lop program can be found on Haiko's http://www.parasiteware.com site at the bottom of the list.

WebMaster Mike
  #6  
Old September 16th, 2002, 08:44 AM
Haiko de Poel, Jr. Haiko de Poel, Jr. is offline
Haiko de Poel, Jr.'s Avatar
ABW Founder
Join Date: January 18th, 2005
Location: New York
Posts: 21,553
Send a message via AIM to Haiko de Poel, Jr.
BlFH,

Run Morphues directly and you'll see Lop, bonzi and others pop up every two or three minutes.

<font size="2" face="Verdana">Haiko


The secret of success is constancy of purpose. ~ Disraeli
</font></p>
Join ABW to remove this sponsored message.
  #7  
Old September 16th, 2002, 08:57 AM
ecomcity ecomcity is offline
ecomcity's Avatar
2005 Linkshare Golden Link Award Winner 
Join Date: January 18th, 2005
Location: St Clair Shores MI.
Posts: 17,386
Seems Fastclick is doing some driveby downloads of Xupiter from this heads up post by Mysterygirl- Re:The "official" xupiter thread.
« Reply #24 on: September 9, 2002, 01:11:57 AM »

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
The 205.180.85.40 domain is owned by FASTCLICK
http://www.fastclick.com/about/contact.html
I would block cookies before visiting them, who knows what software they will foist on you after this Xupiter nightmare.

Perhaps you will want to contact them and tell them how you really feel about their product. One vaild address that they use for sales and therefore have to check regularly would be quote@fastclick.com
Their phone number is (805) 964-2266. I can't see their email addresses without enabling cookies.

They boast of gathering: visitor country, state/region, city or DMA within the US hour-of-day, day-of-week, visitor bandwidth, and visitor ISP. Check out their site for how this stuff is marketed. Very interesting. Then take some policital action against this, if you're getting tired of it.

Reference URL .. http://www.spywareinfo.com/yabbse/index.php?board=3;action=display;threadid=1066;start=20

WebMaster Mike
  #8  
Old September 16th, 2002, 10:35 AM
Kellie aka Ms. B Kellie aka Ms. B is offline
Kellie aka Ms. B's Avatar
Defender of Truth, Justice and the Affiliate Way
Join Date: January 18th, 2005
Location: The Swamp
Posts: 7,185
Send a message via AIM to Kellie aka Ms. B Send a message via MSN to Kellie aka Ms. B Send a message via Yahoo to Kellie aka Ms. B
Thanks for the info from the both of you.

Mike, that's a very interesting thread over at spywareinfo. This is definitely not something you want to get hit with. Everyone needs to get those ActiveX security settings turned on.

Haiko, I'll run Morpheus and see. I wasn't having actual Morpheus program itself open, it was just running the shopping thing. The only thing I did notice when I actually opened Morpheus were banner ads for copydvd.com. Urh, spammers from Hades! I guess birds of a feather, flock together. I did mean to try out their web search function to see what happened and just never did it.
Reply

Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump