Reply

Thread: 7AdPower

 
Tools
  #1  
Old October 9th, 2005, 01:30 AM
Dynamoo Dynamoo is offline
Dynamoo's Avatar
SlimeWare Outer & Mooderator
Join Date: January 18th, 2005
Location: Elstow, UK
Posts: 5,463
I spotted something off in Alexa's movers and shakers table - a domain called Advnt01.com, traffic rank 378, but with a site that appears to be blank.

A little digging around comes up with a network of sites, with a very high reach per million each:

Advnt01.com - 3,350
Advnt03.com - 95
Advnt05.com - 1,010

I don't know if adding them together is meaningful, but that gives a reach of 0.45% of all machines in the world visiting these sites.

These seem to belong to an ad network called 7AdPower. A bit of Googling shows a lot of dialer related activing and some sort of BHO generating popups.

That's a lot of activity.. but I've never heard of them. Anyone else?
__________________
_________________________________________________

Innovative advertising with Slimeware Corporation and Telephore. Mail-order fuel with Petrol Direct.
  #2  
Old October 10th, 2005, 12:14 AM
bedelman bedelman is offline
bedelman's Avatar
Full Member
Join Date: January 18th, 2005
Posts: 471
I searched my network logs, which report URLs requested in various of my spyware testing (mostly testing of security exploits). I see some traffic going to advnt0_.com in several rounds of testing I did last month. Nothing good. For example, I see them receiving traffic from folks called azebar.com. Looks like they're then sending the traffic on to paypopup.com. From there, hard to say.

I have video and packet log proof on file, showing traffic to this network originating in ways that don't entail meaningful user consent.
  #3  
Old October 10th, 2005, 12:47 AM
Rhea Rhea is offline
Rhea's Avatar
Troll Killer and best Snooper!
I decide when the pigs fly!
Join Date: January 18th, 2005
Location: New York, USA
Posts: 6,151
http://groups.google.com/groups?hl=en&q=Advnt01
http://groups.google.com/groups?hl=en&q=Advnt02
http://groups.google.com/groups?hl=en&q=Advnt04
http://groups.google.com/groups?hl=en&q=Advnt05

Lots of mentions in Google Groups virus forums.
Join ABW to remove this sponsored message.
  #4  
Old October 10th, 2005, 03:48 AM
Dynamoo Dynamoo is offline
Dynamoo's Avatar
SlimeWare Outer & Mooderator
Join Date: January 18th, 2005
Location: Elstow, UK
Posts: 5,463
When I checked out the 7AdPower.com site, it hadn't been updated since 2003. That part of the operation looks pretty dormant.

However, if we say that they've got a reach of 4,500 per million, then look at the Alexa stats for Paypopup.com, we can see that Paypopup.com has a reach of only 5,600 per million.

So, allowing a wide margin for statistical error, Paypopup.com is getting perhaps 60%-80% of its traffic through the 7AdPower servers? OK, it's not a smoking gun, but it's interesting.

Paypopup.com is owned by yesup.net who also run popinads.com. They've been linked with the Pugi/WhyPPC and FavoriteMan parasites.

I wonder what kind of relationship 7AdPower have then.. an affiliate of Paypopup.com perhaps?
__________________
_________________________________________________

Innovative advertising with Slimeware Corporation and Telephore. Mail-order fuel with Petrol Direct.
  #5  
Old October 10th, 2005, 10:57 AM
bedelman bedelman is offline
bedelman's Avatar
Full Member
Join Date: January 18th, 2005
Posts: 471
Quote:
I wonder what kind of relationship 7AdPower have then.. an affiliate of Paypopup.com perhaps?
I'd say that's consistent with what I observed and recorded. Hard to know for sure.
Reply

Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump