Reply
 
Tools
Old February 15th, 2006, 01:26 PM   #1
Gary-AvantLink
AvantLink Co-Founder & CMO
 
Gary-AvantLink's Avatar
 
Join Date: January 18th, 2005
Location: Youtaugh
Posts: 2,102
Scammers TRYIN' to Sneak in as Affiliates

Recently, we've caught several scammers trying to gain access into the Affiliate side of our network using false credentials. Specifically, these scammers are applying to AvantLink using quality sites that do not belong to them.

We discovered this when we received an application from a high-profile Affiliate site that was already in the network.

Now, with all high-quality sites coming through our application queue, we are verifying email and phone number through the submitted application and we're looking up the domain registration records to compare what is on WHOIS and what was submitted.

PLUS..

We are contacting the 'real' site admins through their site! This is because some of these scammers are going to WHOIS and getting the admin contact, than using that info in their application to us, making it appear more legitimate. We are taking every step to insure the legitimacy of our Affiliate applications.

We're not sure of the agenda here, but most likely they are looking for ways to collect commissions on fraudulent orders placed through their own Affiliate account.

-

Site admins, if you receive (or have received) an automated response from an Affiliate network your site may have been a target for one of these scams. What happens is they apply using a domain that is not theirs, and a generic email based on that stolen domain (for example: webmaster @ domain.com). When an action is taken that triggers an auto-email message from the network, the email is going out to the generic email address they submitted based on the domain. In some cases that email belongs to the actual site admin.

Has any Affiliates/site admins seen auto responses coming from networks lately? You may have been wondering why you received that kind of message...well maybe now it makes more sense.

Gary M
__________________
Gary Marcoccia (gmarcoccia~at~avantlink.com), AvantLink

AvantLink Blog - ABestWeb Forum
Gary-AvantLink is online now   Reply With Quote
Old February 15th, 2006, 01:48 PM   #2
rhkocatas
Affiliate Manager
 
rhkocatas's Avatar
 
Join Date: January 17th, 2005
Posts: 343
We have had a ton of problems with scammers (see http://forum.abestweb.com/showthread.php?t=17940) ever since our program launched.
__________________
Reha Kocatas - MagazineAgent.com (And now MAGpass.com)!
Highest Commissions on Magazine Subscriptions Visit the Magazine-Agent Affiliate Forum
Start selling magazine subscriptions today!
rhkocatas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 15th, 2006, 03:29 PM   #3
Gary-AvantLink
AvantLink Co-Founder & CMO
 
Gary-AvantLink's Avatar
 
Join Date: January 18th, 2005
Location: Youtaugh
Posts: 2,102
Thank you Reha. I like how you have been handling some of these scammers...

Gary M
__________________
Gary Marcoccia (gmarcoccia~at~avantlink.com), AvantLink

AvantLink Blog - ABestWeb Forum
Gary-AvantLink is online now   Reply With Quote
Old February 15th, 2006, 04:06 PM   #4
rhkocatas
Affiliate Manager
 
rhkocatas's Avatar
 
Join Date: January 17th, 2005
Posts: 343
Sent a PM
__________________
Reha Kocatas - MagazineAgent.com (And now MAGpass.com)!
Highest Commissions on Magazine Subscriptions Visit the Magazine-Agent Affiliate Forum
Start selling magazine subscriptions today!
rhkocatas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 15th, 2006, 04:44 PM   #5
elbowcreek
Domain Addict
 
elbowcreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: January 18th, 2005
Posts: 5,437
Send a message via Yahoo to elbowcreek
When someone goes to that much effort to hide their true identity while applying to you programs, you should be allowed to hit them with a bat. IMO, violence has solved all sorts of issues over the years, and a nice thwacking with a hickory stump might even reawaken their consience.
__________________
"I drank what?!" -Socrates
elbowcreek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 15th, 2006, 06:10 PM   #6
Merchant Consultant Team
Moderator
 
Merchant Consultant Team's Avatar
 
Join Date: January 18th, 2005
Location: California
Posts: 2,125
Although we do not discuss fraudsters and our methods of identifying the perps, I will state that South Dakota has become an issue...

We do notify the CEO of the real site/sites and have discussed perps with some of their legal teams.

Some of the fraudsters read or are members here.
Merchant Consultant Team is online now   Reply With Quote
Old February 15th, 2006, 07:03 PM   #7
Erick-DatingOffers
Newbie
 
Erick-DatingOffers's Avatar
 
Join Date: February 9th, 2006
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 2
Send a message via AIM to Erick-DatingOffers
Hi Gary,
Our affiliate network, Market Leverage, maintains extremely tight reigns to keep the fraudsters from entering our network. We call every new publisher, verifying there's a legit phone number and person on the other end to answer. We scrutinize and screen every applicant whose IP location does not match up with their physical address. We automatically deny publishers who sign up from China and Russia using U.S. PO Boxes as mailing addresses.
Erick-DatingOffers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 15th, 2006, 07:47 PM   #8
Gary-AvantLink
AvantLink Co-Founder & CMO
 
Gary-AvantLink's Avatar
 
Join Date: January 18th, 2005
Location: Youtaugh
Posts: 2,102
Thanks everyone. I appreciate the comments. It is incredible how quick this became rampant...we've only been accepting applications for four months! Anyway...we'll be authenticating every new applicant to verify ownership.

Gary M
__________________
Gary Marcoccia (gmarcoccia~at~avantlink.com), AvantLink

AvantLink Blog - ABestWeb Forum
Gary-AvantLink is online now   Reply With Quote
Old February 15th, 2006, 08:22 PM   #9
Rexanne
Life is Supposed to be Fun!
 
Rexanne's Avatar
 
Join Date: January 18th, 2005
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 11,989
Geeeeze, what's the next threat to this poor fledgling business? I think it says a lot about the POTENTIAL of A.M. so everyone smile and say "Man am I glad I learned how to do this!"
__________________
Peace,

Rexanne

Rexanne.com
Loving Everyone's Child Creates Magic

Rexanne is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Merchants: Read This Before You Join or Renew At LinkShare 7-days LinkShare 42 June 6th, 2005 12:03 AM
Great ABW opportunity!! SSanf Commission Junction 18 January 26th, 2004 11:27 PM
New tracking system destroys affiliates Peach ClickBank 4 November 30th, 2003 09:59 PM
Cirrus Affiliates October Update malloy New Program Announcements & Paid Ads 0 October 4th, 2003 10:29 AM