Notices
Reply

Thread: Giberish Spam?

 
Tools Search
  #1  
Old February 17th, 2011, 02:22 PM
ABW Ambassador
Join Date: November 25th, 2005
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 634
Normally, I can figure most things out on my own but I have a spam issue that has been going on for a few years and could use some insight from ABW'ers... I have a coupon site with a contact form that keeps getting spammed.
What I would like to know is why do the messages look like links made up of giberish?

The spam messages seem to be built in four different parts divided by commas:
1) A standard < a href > link but the url and linked text are non-sensical letters and numbers (different from the other links and text)
2) A second [ url= ] tag but again, the url and linked text are non-sensical letters and numbers (different from the other links and text)
3) A third [ link= ] tag but again, the url and linked text are non-sensical letters and numbers (different from the other links and text)
4) A straight-up http link and again, the url and linked text are non-sensical letters and numbers (different from the other links and text)

It is a pain but I just wondering what is the purpose behind this?
What possible use is a domain made from a jumble of letters?

Dave
  #2  
Old February 17th, 2011, 02:31 PM
ABW Ambassador
Join Date: January 17th, 2005
Location: Tropical Mountaintop
Posts: 5,407
Maybe human testing for spam bot setup? Practicing their routine? I have never seen a problem like this, hope someone else can tell you for sure what it is. I have seen redirect sites set up with useless jumbled names. Can you match the junk with access logs and see if there is an IP to ban?
__________________
Whether you think you can or think you can't - You will be right.
  #3  
Old February 17th, 2011, 02:35 PM
ABW Ambassador
Join Date: January 18th, 2005
Location: Mansfield, TX
Posts: 15,686
What they're probably trying to do is to overflow the input field and make your contact form send spam emails out to people.

For instance, they might enter a from email address of "test@test.com\nTo: huge list of email addresses\nSubject: Buy Viagra\n\nVisit my spam site to buy Viagra.\n\n\n\n\n\n". If your script doesn't handle things right, that may cause your server to send spam out instead of sending the feedback to you.

The fact that you got the email makes it sound like it's probably handling things right. They're just testing it (probably in an automated way) to try to find vulnerable contact forms.

That's my guess, anyway.
__________________
Michael Coley
Amazing-Bargains.com
 Affiliate Tips | Merchant Best Practices | Affiliate Friendly? | Couponing | CPA Networks? | More?
"Education is the most powerful weapon which you can use to change the world." Nelson Mandela
I'm no longer active on ABestWeb because I disapprove of recent changes. If you want to contact me, please do so directly.
Join ABW to remove this sponsored message.
  #4  
Old February 17th, 2011, 05:08 PM
Defender of Truth, Justice and the Affiliate Way
Join Date: January 18th, 2005
Location: The Swamp
Posts: 7,524
Send a message via AIM to Kellie aka Ms. B Send a message via MSN to Kellie aka Ms. B Send a message via Yahoo to Kellie aka Ms. B
Quote:
What possible use is a domain made from a jumble of letters?
A throw away domain.
  #5  
Old February 17th, 2011, 11:39 PM
Comfortably Numb
Join Date: October 17th, 2005
Location: Bayou Country, LA
Posts: 3,420
Quote:
Originally Posted by CanadianDave View Post
Normally, I can figure most things out on my own but I have a spam issue that has been going on for a few years and could use some insight from ABW'ers... I have a coupon site with a contact form that keeps getting spammed.
What I would like to know is why do the messages look like links made up of giberish?

The spam messages seem to be built in four different parts divided by commas:
1) A standard < a href > link but the url and linked text are non-sensical letters and numbers (different from the other links and text)
2) A second [ url= ] tag but again, the url and linked text are non-sensical letters and numbers (different from the other links and text)
3) A third [ link= ] tag but again, the url and linked text are non-sensical letters and numbers (different from the other links and text)
4) A straight-up http link and again, the url and linked text are non-sensical letters and numbers (different from the other links and text)

It is a pain but I just wondering what is the purpose behind this?
What possible use is a domain made from a jumble of letters?

Dave
I saw this for the first time today. 2 emails back to back and not one word that I could recognize. It doesn't even begin to look like a language. Contact form also here.
__________________

  #6  
Old February 18th, 2011, 08:04 AM
Comfortably Numb
Join Date: October 17th, 2005
Location: Bayou Country, LA
Posts: 3,420
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kellie aka Ms. B View Post
A throw away domain.
I got another one this morning with 5 different gibberish domains that whois says are invalid. Looking in the server log shows it was from Barcelona, Spain. Can't figure out what's the point.
__________________

Join ABW to remove this sponsored message.
  #7  
Old February 18th, 2011, 08:07 AM
Full Member
Join Date: November 12th, 2007
Location: Dover, DE
Posts: 420
They try to inject a line break so they can piggyback a CC field on the "to" field. So when they submit the form it goes to you plus a bazillion addresses they've injected into the new cc field. It's an old exploit that most apps have sanitized, but they still try to make it work.
__________________
Coin Forum | Stamp Forum

Our new APA 9 Ball Team is looking for a 3 or lower in the Dover, DE area!

Last edited by bobby131313; February 18th, 2011 at 08:08 AM.
  #8  
Old February 18th, 2011, 08:21 AM
Comfortably Numb
Join Date: October 17th, 2005
Location: Bayou Country, LA
Posts: 3,420
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobby131313 View Post
They try to inject a line break so they can piggyback a CC field on the "to" field. So when they submit the form it goes to you plus a bazillion addresses they've injected into the new cc field. It's an old exploit that most apps have sanitized, but they still try to make it work.
So I guess then this would just be a probe to see if there is a vulnerability. If it works then they do a real spam message that would benefit them?
__________________

  #9  
Old February 18th, 2011, 08:56 AM
ABW Ambassador
Join Date: January 18th, 2005
Location: Mansfield, TX
Posts: 15,686
That's my guess. They probably have a spider/bot just looking for contact forms and testing them for vulnerabilities, then a separate spider/bot that spams through any vulnerabilities they find.
__________________
Michael Coley
Amazing-Bargains.com
 Affiliate Tips | Merchant Best Practices | Affiliate Friendly? | Couponing | CPA Networks? | More?
"Education is the most powerful weapon which you can use to change the world." Nelson Mandela
I'm no longer active on ABestWeb because I disapprove of recent changes. If you want to contact me, please do so directly.
Join ABW to remove this sponsored message.
  #10  
Old February 18th, 2011, 11:36 AM
ABW Ambassador
Join Date: November 25th, 2005
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 634
Thanks everyone! It's good to get some informed information on this. Now that I think of it, I am seeing similar spam across a number of different domains/flavour of email (form to database, Yahoo mail and domain addresses).
__________________
When the only tool you have is a hammer - everything looks like a nail.
Reply

Tools Search
Search:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What Is Spam? - Amazingly - You Can Legally and Ethically Make Money with Spam! Mr. Sal Virtual Family and Off-Topic 8 November 16th, 2007 12:36 PM
Spam bghtn Midnight Cafe' 6 April 12th, 2003 08:16 AM


Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.